“Do You Remember?”

Posted: June 21, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My Aunt Barbara who lived to be 103 would always start a conversation with that expression. Since her long-term memory was excellent, this was a way to steer the conversation toward things she could easily recall. When you see a rotary dial telephone, what do you remember?

For me, it’s growing up in Chicago living in an apartment next to my Grandma. We didn’t have a telephone when I was a wee lad. If we needed to make or receive a call, we’d walk over and use her telephone. It was black and weighed a ton; at least to a 5 year old. It had a curly cord to the handset but an old linen cord hard-wired to the telephone outlet. Moving the dial took effort and you needed both hands to hold the receiver. It was only on special occasions that you used it and when you did you had to remember to steady the receiver lest you chip your tooth on the mouth piece.

If I used that phone 10 times my whole life that would have been a lot. Today, taking only 10 calls a day would be considered being on vacation. Take the time to recall the your first experiences with a rotary dial phone. What memories do they invoke? Share them in the Comments section. We’d like to see what you did remember.

Comments
  1. councilblogs says:

    I can envision how sore my fingers got either when we wanted to call quickly or had to try calling trying to get through a busy signal! I had to chuckle when I saw this princess phone.

Leave a Reply

