Why I Ignore Black Friday

Posted: November 22, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Is it so wrong for me to think that anyone who camps out in front of a department store on Thanksgiving Night has way too much time on their hands? I realize that the day after Thanksgiving, aka Black Friday, is the biggest day of the year for retailers. I have a problem with being told that this is the day I get to park a half mile away and fight the crowds only to find out that the $99 iPad’s sold out 14 seconds after the store opened.

It’s funny how the Friday after Thanksgiving is Black Friday and the Monday after Thanksgiving is Cyber Monday. Since the internet is 24/7 what’s magic about making me buy on-line on that Monday?

Maybe this holiday season of economic uncertainty we need to step back and take a look on how to best spend our money during this time of a marketing bombardment. In my line of work which is providing telecommunications solutions to my customers, I need to turn a deaf ear to being told who provides the best solution, which protocol is the best and what emerging technology band wagon must be jumped upon. Maybe we need to focus on what’s best for my me, my business and my customers and leave the hyperbole to those folks camping out in the rain in front on the Wal-Mart.

Comments
  1. councilblogs says:

    Cool graphic! It is amazing how Americans can make a shopping event out of anything.

  2. Scott says:

    Agreed on all counts. I’ve been celebrating Buy Nothing Day for years. It’s one of my favorite holidays because you can potentially celebrate it everyday of the year. For those who can’t resist making themselves miserable by participating in such nonsense on their day-off, I’d suggest staying away from the targ-marts and the wal-buys and ask that you consider supporting locally-owned business.

    Here’s a good blog on the subject:

    http://www.stopblackfriday.com

  3. … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find more Infos: selecttelecom.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/why-i-ignore-black-friday/ […]…

Leave a Reply

