In this day of rumor, hearsay and hyperbole, it’s easy to get the facts distorted. In my arena, telecommunications, things aren’t much better. People are constantly telling me about how VoIP, SIP Trunking or Cloud Computing are going to change the industry. They know it’s true since they read it in the Wall Street Journal or maybe it was Rolling Stone.

While VoIP, SIP Trunking, Cloud Computing and technologies we’ve never imagined are and will continue to change the industry; is this what you the business owner should focus on? I think not.

When I see my doctor. I don’t need to be up to date on the current procedures and drug therapies associated with my condition. It helps if I have a basic understanding of what treatments and drugs are available and what’s on the horizon. However, I realize that they are the experts whose livelihood depends on being proficient in their field.

The same is true in telecommunications system design. Like going to the doctor, focus on what hurts. Allow the professionals to design and recommend the appropriate treatments and procedures based on the accepted diagnosis. Don’t try to second guess the professional by demanding new and unproven remedies which may possibly make your situation worse. Let us do what we know best. It may be just what the doctor ordered.

Leave a Reply

